The Unincorporated Man Wins The Prometheus Award for Best Novel of the Year

2 pages

Please download to get full document.

View again

of 2
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
The Libertarian Futurist Society will bestow its Prometheus Award this year during Aussicon 4, in Melbourne, Australia. The winner of the Best Novel award is The Unincorporated Man , by Dani and Eytan Kollin.
  The Unincorporated Man Wins The Prometheus Award for Best Novel of the YearThe Libertarian Futurist Society will bestow its Prometheus Award this year during Aussicon 4, in Melbourne, Australia. The winner of the Best Novel award is The Unincorporated Man , by Dani and Eytan Kollin.Melbourne, VIC, July 23, 2010 -- The Libertarian Futurist Society will hold itsannual awards ceremony for the Prometheus Award during Aussicon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention, September 2-6, 2010, in Melbourne, Australia. Thespecific time and location will be available in the convention program.The winner of the Best Novel award is The Unincorporated Man , by Dani and Eytan Kollin (TOR Books). The Hall of Fame award was won by No Truce with Kings, astory by Poul Anderson, written in 1964. The Kollin Brothers will each receivea plaque and a one-ounce gold coin, while a smaller gold coin and a plaque willbe presented to Anderson's estate. The Unincorporated Man ( ) is the first novelpublication by the Kollin brothers. It is the first novel in a planned trilogyto be published by Tor. The Unincorporated Man presents the idea that education and personal development could be funded by allowing investors to take a shareof one's future income. The novel explores the ways this arrangement would affect those who do not own a majority of the stock in themselves. For instance, often one's investors would have control of a person's choices of where to live orwork. The desire for power as an end unto itself and the negative consequences of the raw lust for power are shown in often great detail. The story takes a strong position that liberty is important and worth fighting for, and the charactersspend their time pushing for different conceptions of what freedom is.Poul Anderson's novels have been nominated many times, and have won the Prometheus Award (in 1995, for The Stars are also Fire ), and the Hall of Fame Award (1995 for The Star Fox and 1985 for Trader to the Stars ). He also received a Special award for lifetime achievement in 2001. This was the first nomination for No Truce With Kings .Poul Anderson's No Truce with Kings was first published in 1963. Like many science fiction stories of that era, it was set in a future that had endured a nuclear war. Anderson's focus is not on the immediate disaster and the struggle to survive, but the later rebuilding; its central conflict is over what sort of civilization should be created. The story's title comes from Rudyard Kipling's poem The Old Issue, which describes the struggle to bind kings and states with lawand the threat of their breaking free. Anderson's future California is basicallya feudal society, founded on local loyalties, but it has a growing movement infavor of a centralized, impersonal state. As David Friedman remarked about thisstory, Anderson plays fair with his conflicting forces: both of them want the best for humanity, but one side is mistaken about what that is. This story is classic Anderson and, like many of his best stories, reveals his libertarian sympathies.The other finalists for Best Novel were Hidden Empire, by Orson Scott Card (TORBooks); Makers, by Cory Doctorow (TOR Books); Liberating Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books); and The United States of Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books). Eleven novels published in 2009 were nominated for the 2010 award.The other finalists for the Hall of Fame award were As Easy as A.B.C., a story by Rudyard Kipling (1912); Cryptonomicon, a novel by Neal Stephenson (1999); and'Repent, Harlequin!' Said the Ticktockman, a story by Harlan Ellison (1965).The LFS is announcing the winning works so that fans of the works and the writer  s can begin to make plans for attending the awards ceremonies. Anyone interestedin more information about the awards ceremony or other LFS activities at Aussicon 4 can send email to Prometheus awards for Best Novel, Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) and (occasional) Special awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personaland economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.About The Prometheus AwardThe Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society ( ), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention,the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for each of the winners.The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction, including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays. Past Hall of Fame award winners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury and Ursula LeGuin.Publishers who wish to submit novels published in 2009 for the 2010 Best Novel award should contact Michael Grossberg, Chair of the LFS Prometheus Awards Best Novel Finalist judging committee online at or on paper at 3164Plymouth Place, Columbus OH 43213.About The Libertarian Futurist SocietyFounded in 1982, the Libertarian Futurist Society sponsors the annual PrometheusAward and Prometheus Hall of Fame; publishes reviews, news and columns in the quarterly Prometheus ; arranges annual awards ceremonies at the WorldCon; debates libertarian futurist issues (such as private space exploration); and providesfun and fellowship for libertarian SF fans.A list of past winners of LFS awards can be found on the LFS web site at more information, contact LFS President Chris Hibbert by e-mail at hibbert@mydruthers.comPress Contact:Michael GrossbergLibertarian Futurist Society3164 Plymouth PlaceColumbus OH 43213(212) 388-0100press@richcontent.tv
Related Search
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks

We need your sign to support Project to invent "SMART AND CONTROLLABLE REFLECTIVE BALLOONS" to cover the Sun and Save Our Earth.

More details...

Sign Now!

We are very appreciated for your Prompt Action!