Political parties crowding Shan State North capital

3 pages

Please download to get full document.

View again

of 3
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
So far there are 9 parties that have opened office:.... shanland org.
  Political parties crowding Shan State North capital Written by Hseng Khio FahWednesday, 07 July 2010 16:31 The capital of Shan State North Lashio is crowded with several political parties representingdifferent ethnic groups such as Wa, Shan, Kachin, Lahu, Palaung and pro-junta elements,according to local sources. So far there are 9 parties that have opened office:1.Shan National Democratic Party (SNDP). The branch chairman is Sai Aung Gyi, 60, and SaiKham Leng, 75, former EC of Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD) is said to be itscandidate2. Lahu National Democratic Party (LNDP), its chairman is Jaha Shay, 56 and Daniel Aung,elected MP of Mongpiang in 1990 will be the party’s advisor, said a source close to theleadershipThe party’s office is located in Quarter No#1, on Tineyone road.3. National Unity Party (NUP). Its chairman is U Paw Oo, 60.4. Kachin party called Northern Shan State Progressive Party (NSSPP) led by U Changkhaw,60, former state councilor during the socialist days. It is yet to be approved by the ElectionsCommission.5. Palaung (Taang) National Party (PNP) and led by Ai Mong, 55, former leader of PalaungState Liberation Army (PSLA) which was forced to surrender in 2005.6. Kokang Democracy and Unity Party (KDUP). The party’s office is in Quarter#12, known bylocal people as Lashio Long (Big Lashio).“Lo Xingguang, 60, is the party’s Chairman,” said another source. “They finished their party’sopening ceremony on 3 July 2010.”7. Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP). Its branch Chairman is Naw Kham Oo,between 50-60, secretary of junta-backed Union Solidarity and Development Association(UWSA) in Kyaukme Township.The USDP office is also located in Quarter No.1, near the independence monument.8. Wa Democratic Party (WDP), led by Khun Tun Lu, 60, who won the only National Unity Party 1 / 3  Political parties crowding Shan State North capital Written by Hseng Khio FahWednesday, 07 July 2010 16:31 (NUP) seat in Shan State at Hopang township in 1990.9. Wa National and Unity Party (WNUP). Its office is located on Paramee road, in Quarter No#1.Its patron is Philip Hsam, 71, former state councilor.The WNUP was formerly the Wa National Development Party (WNDP), one of the ten partiesthat were recognized by the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC) after the1990elections.Its chairman is said to be Luke Pao, 47-year-old, according to Myanmar Times report in June.The WNUP said that it will not contest in Wa Self Administered Region as most areas are stillnot “stable”, according to Philip quoted in Myanmar Times.He said the WNUP is focusing on securing seats in the Shan State Hluttaw, rather than thePyitaungsu Hluttaw, or national parliament. The Lashio-based party expects to field candidatesin Lashio, Kengtung, Tang Yan and Hopang townships, where there are significant numbers ofWa people.So far 5 of the 9 mentioned parties have already held party’s opening ceremony: the SNDP,LNDP, WNUP, KDUP and USDP. Nevertheless, none of them is reported to have startedcampaigning.However, the SNDP is believed to have filled its 1,000 member quota as it has a branch officein every township it will contest, said a source.The Northeastern Region Command Commander was reportedly said to have been scolded byNaypyitaw after receiving reports the SNDP had opened many branch offices, according to aninformed youth in Mandalay.According to him, the party is much supported by local people in Shan State. “Most people saythe party will be at least the second winner like the SNLD that contested the 1990 elections,” hesaid.There are so far 11 political parties that will contest in the whole Shan State, North, East andSouth: Kayan National Party (KNP), Shan National Democratic Party (SNDP), Taang (Palaung)National Party (PNP), Wa National Unity Party (WNUP), Wa Democratic Party (WDP), NorthernShan State Progressive Party (NSSPP), Kokang Democracy and Unity Party (KDUP), Pa-ONational Organization (PNO), Inn National Development Party (INDP), Lahu NationalDevelopment Party (LNDP), Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and NationalUnity Party (NUP).  2 / 3  Political parties crowding Shan State North capital Written by Hseng Khio FahWednesday, 07 July 2010 16:31   3 / 3
Related Search
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks

We need your sign to support Project to invent "SMART AND CONTROLLABLE REFLECTIVE BALLOONS" to cover the Sun and Save Our Earth.

More details...

Sign Now!

We are very appreciated for your Prompt Action!